JONESPORT SCHOOL DEPARTMENT SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Jonesport, Maine February 6, 2019

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE MINUTES ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL APPROVED AT THE NEXT MEETING. A meeting of the Jonesport School Committee was held at the Superintendent of Schools Office on Wednesday, February 6, 2019 with members present as follows: Clifford Norton, III, Julie Farris and Ernest Kelley, Jr. Also present were Melissa Tenney and Superintendent of Schools Denis Howard.

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

1. Pledge of Allegiance

The Superintendent opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. Approval of the Minutes of November 7, 2018

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the minutes of November 7, 2018.

3. Coaches

A. Pee Wee Girls' Basketball

The Superintendent recommended Lillian Faulkingham for the position of pee wee girls' basketball coach for the 2018-2019 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

B. Pee Wee Cheering

The Superintendent recommended Marni Crowley for the position of pee wee girls' cheerleading coach for the 2018-2019 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

4. Continuing Contract Teachers – Recommendation for Continued Employment

The Superintendent recommended the continued employment of the following teachers for the 2019-2020: Jeanna Carver – PreK; Allison Beal – Kindergarten; Erin Peabody – Grade 4; Debra Carver – Grades 6-8 Math and History; Lisa Marin – Art (Part-time 12/35ths) and Gifted/Talented (Part-time 1/35th); Marla Bagley – Grades 6-8 Health (Part-time 3.5/7ths) and Technology (Part-time 3.5/7ths); Marni Crowley – Grade 5; Daniel Campbell – Physical Education (Part-time 43%); Norma Jean Senechal – Special Education.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

5. Teacher Nominations – Probationary/Continuing Contract

The Superintendent nominated Tamra Lenfestey for a two-year continuing contract as Title IA teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

5. Teacher Nominations – Probationary/Continuing Contract, Continued

The Superintendent nominated Sylvina Lyons for a two-year continuing contract as science teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

The Superintendent nominated Mikayla Kelley for a third year probationary contract as grade one teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

The Superintendent nominated Katharine Kelley for a third year probationary contract as grade two teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

The Superintendent nominated Jessica Kittrell for a third year probationary contract as grade three teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

The Superintendent nominated John Reese for a second year probationary contract as grade five teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

The Superintendent nominated Stephen McInnis for a second year probationary contract as part-time (3/5ths) special education teacher for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the nomination.

6. 2019-2020 Hourly Support Staff – Recommendation for Continued Employment

The Superintendent recommended the continued employment of the following hourly support staff for the 2019-2020 year:

Crystal Emerson – Custodian (40 hrs per week, 52 weeks per year);

Cindy Mawson – Custodian; (25 hrs per week while school is in session, 30 hrs per week summer/school vacations);

Lisa Graham – Secretary to the Principal (40 hrs per week, 43 weeks per year);

Andrea Hartford – Special Education Ed Tech III (35 hrs per week while school is in session);

Jamie Bradley – Title IA Ed Tech III (35 hrs per week while school is in session);

Kristin Crowley – Special Education Ed Tech III (35 hrs per week while school is in session);

Nancy Alley – Food Service Manager II (35 hrs per week while school is in session);

Trisha Alley – Assistant Cook (35 hrs per week while school is in session).

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

7. Director of Special Education Contract for 2019-2020

The Superintendent recommended Steve Peer as part-time director of special education for the 2019-2020 year with salary to be determined. The Superintendent further recommended cost sharing for the position to be determined by the previous year's actual special education enrollment per school with next year's percentages as follows: Moosabec -36%; Jonesport -41%; Beals -23%.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the recommendation.

8. 2019-2020 Athletic Coordinator

The Superintendent recommended Patrick Kelley and Misty Kelley for the shared position of athletic coordinator for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (2-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

9. 2019-2020 Facility Chair

The Superintendent recommended Erin Peabody and Debra Carver for the shared position of facility chair for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (2-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

10. 2019-2020 Technology Coordinator

The Superintendent recommended Marla Bagley for the position of technology coordinator for the 2019-2020 year.

The School Committee voted (2-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

11. Principal Contract

The Superintendent recommended Melissa Tenney for the position of principal for the 2019-2020 year with salary to be determined during the budget process.

The School Committee voted (3-0-0) to approve the recommendation.

12. Policy Review

A. JKB – Detention of Students

The School Committee reviewed policy JKB – Detention of Students.

The School Committee voted (2-0-0) to approve policy JKB – Detention of Students.

B. CB-R – Superintendent of Schools Job Description

The School Committee reviewed policy CB-R – Superintendent of Schools Job Description.

No action.

Jonesport School Committee Minutes, Continued February 6, 2019 Page 4

12. Policy Review, Continued

C. Job Description - Support Staff Secretary

The School Committee reviewed and voted (2-0-0) to approve the support staff secretary job description.

13. Principal's Report

See attached.

14. Miscellaneous

A letter was read from Kerri Anne Farris requesting a leave of absence from her position of Ed Tech III beginning April 22, 2019 through August, 2020.

No action.

15. Adjournment

The School Committee adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Denis L. Howard Superintendent of Schools

ac