JONESPORT SCHOOL DEPARTMENT SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE MINUTES ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL APPROVED AT THE NEXT MEETING.

A meeting of the Jonesport School Committee was held at Jonesport Elementary School on Wednesday, June 1, 2022 with members present as follows: Julie Farris and Ernest Kelley, Jr. Also present was Principal Heidi Fairbanks, Superintendent of Schools Lewis Collins.

Chair Farris called the meeting to order at 5:01p.m. followed by the pledge.

1. Approval of Minutes

The School Committee voted (2-0) to approve the minutes of the May 4, 2022 meeting.

- 2. Public Comment Session (Up to 20 minutes) NONE
- 3. School Calendar 2022-2023

Motion and Second to approve 2022-2023 School Calendar

- 4. New Policy Second Readings
 - Policy BBA Motion and Second to approve as presented. (2-0)
 - Policy GBO Motion and Second to approve policy with the addition of 'foster child' in definition of immediate family. (2-0)
 - Policy IMBB Motion and Second to approve as presented. (2-0)
 - Policy JLCB Motion and Second to approve as presented. (2-0)
- 5. Employee Request for Modified Work Year (February 13 March 31st)

Motion and Second to table. (2-0)

- 6. Fall Coaches None Provided
- 7. Staff Resignations Athletic Co-Directors

Motion and Second to accept the resignations for Misty and Patrick Kelley with regrets. (2-0)

8. Authorization to Hire

JONESPORT SCHOOL DEPARTMENT SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

The Board gives permission to the Superintendent to hire as necessary during the months of July and August, 2022 and will ratify new employees at the first regular meeting thereafter. (2-0)

9. Principal's Report (see attached)

10. Other

- Motion and Second to accept Superintendent's nomination of Vanessa Barton as Grade 6-8 ELA Teacher – 1st year Probationary for the School Year 2022-2023. (2-0)
- Sylvina read a letter from the 8th grade students about their trip.
- Motion and Second to accept resignation of Shaina Murdaugh, Art Teacher, with regrets. (2-0)

11. Adjournment

The School Committee voted (2-0) to adjourn at 5:54p.m.