## MOOSABEC COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Jonesport, Maine May 30, 2023

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE MINUTES ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL APPROVED AT THE NEXT MEETING.

A meeting of the Moosabec CSD School Committee was held at Jonesport-Beals High School on May 30, 2023 with members present as follows: Mariner Bunker, Adam Merchant, Morgan Monroe, Renee Chandler, Julie Farris, Marie Johnson, Nick Faulkingham and Rebecca Stanwood. Also present were members of the public and Superintendent of Schools Lewis Collins.

1. Call to Order and Pledge

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 5:20 p.m.

8. Personnel Issue – Executive Session (Taken Out of Order)

The School Committee voted (8-0-0) to take Item #8 out of order.

The School Committee voted (8-0-0) to enter executive session at 5:21 p.m. to discuss a personnel matter.

The School Committee returned to regular session at 7:09 p.m.

2. Chair's Statement Regarding Public Comment (See Policy BDEH)

Chair Merchant read the section of the policy pertaining to comments about staff members.

3. Approval of Minutes of May 10, 2023

The School Committee voted (8-0-0) to approve the minutes of May 10, 2023.

4. Public Comment (Limited to 20 minutes)

Appreciation expressed by Marni Crowley for the hard work done by the Board members.

5. Teacher Resignation

A letter was read from Mitchell Worcester resigning from his position as physical education teacher and athletic director at the end of the school year.

The School Committee voted (8-0-0) to accept the resignation with regret.

- 6. Coaches
  - A. Baseball
  - B. Assistant Volleyball

The Superintendent recommended the following coaches for 2023-2024: Vinal Crowley – Baseball

Sarah Robinson – Assistant Volleyball

Moosabec CSD Minutes, Continued May 30, 2023 Page 2

## 6. Coaches, Continued

The School Committee voted (8-0-0) to accept the recommendation.

## 7. 2023-2024 Budget Work session

The School Committee voted (6-2-0) to approve a total school budget of \$2,282,683.95 for 2023-2024 and set the school budget meeting voted for June  $20^{th}$  at 5:00 p.m.

9. Action on Executive Session deliberations, if any.

No action.

## 10. Miscellaneous

The new principal interview committee will consist of: Renee Jordan, Nick Faulkingham, Marie Johnson, Tony Beal, Randy Hunter, Chris Crowley and John Reese.

11. Adjournment (no later than 7:30 p.m.)

The School Committee adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lewis Collins Superintendent of Schools