MOOSABEC CSD AND SCHOOL UNION NO. 103 JOINT SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Jonesport, Maine December 8, 2016

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE MINUTES ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL APPROVED AT THE NEXT MEETING.

A meeting of the Moospher CSD and School Union No. 103 Joint School Committee was held

A meeting of the Moosabec CSD and School Union No. 103 Joint School Committee was held at the Jonesport-Beals High School Family and Consumer Science Room on December 8, 2016 with members present as follows: Ernest Kelley Jr., Julie Farris, Clifford Norton III, Debbie Kelley, Loren Faulkingham and Calvin Beal. Also present were Michael Kelley and Superintendent of Schools William Shuttleworth.

Julie Farris called the meeting to order at 7:15 p.m.

The Superintendent opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. Approval of Minutes of November 22, 2016

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) to approve the minutes of November 22, 2016.

2. The Joint School Committee shall organize by electing annually a Chairman and Secretary who shall both be members of a School Committee.

A. Chairman

A motion was made and seconded to have Julie Farris serve as Chairman.

A motion was made and seconded that nominations cease.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that nominations cease.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that Julie Farris serve as Chairman.

B. Secretary

A motion was made and seconded to have Debbie Kelley serve as Secretary.

A motion was made and seconded that nominations cease.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that nominations cease.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that Debbie Kelley serve as Secretary.

3. The Joint School Committee shall adopt a written plan of cost sharing for the supervisory unit.

It was voted (1,425-0-0) to adopt and use the following four factors for cost sharing: (a) enrollment, (b) teachers, (c) state educational subsidy and (d) state valuation. Cost sharing percentages to be used for the 2016-2017 school year are as follows:

Beals 19.4248% Jonesport 41.8763% Moosabec CSD 38.6989% Joint School Committee Minutes, Continued December 8, 2016 Page 2

4. The Joint School Committee shall determine the relative amount of service to be performed by the Superintendent in each unit.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that the relative amount of service to be performed by the Superintendent in each unit be at the discretion of the Superintendent and on as needed basis.

5. The Joint School Committee shall determine the minimum number of visits, which the school superintendent is required to make to each school for each term of the school year.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) that the minimum number of visits which the school superintendent is required to make to each school be at the discretion of the Superintendent.

6. The Joint School Committee shall ratify the employment of office personnel.

The Superintendent reported that he would be continuing to employ April Carver and Terri Crowley as Secretary/Bookkeepers.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) to ratify the employment of April Carver and Terri Crowley as Secretary/Bookkeepers for the 2017-2018 year.

7. The Joint School Committee shall adopt a budget for the operation of the office of Superintendent of Schools including office assistants, supplies, utilities and other office expenses.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) to approve the total central office of \$202,786.63 as presented.

The Joint School Committee voted (1,425-0-0) to employ Beth Anne Lorigan as superintendent of schools from January 1, 2017 to June 30, 2017 with a salary of \$28,000 and from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 with a salary of \$56,000; full single subscriber MEA Anthem Standard or Choice Plus health insurance coverage; single rate subscription to MEA/Northeast Delta Dental Plan Option 3, with Orthodontic Rider 3; Cell phone compensation in the amount of \$1,500 annually.

8. Adjournment

The Joint School Committee adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

William Shuttleworth Superintendent of Schools